Car Repair Forum
Clutch Release Shaft - Printable Version

+- Car Repair Forum (https://fixkick.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Suzuki (https://fixkick.com/forum/forum-suzuki)
+--- Forum: Sidekick/Tracker (https://fixkick.com/forum/forum-sidekick-tracker)
+--- Thread: Clutch Release Shaft (/thread-clutch-release-shaft)

Pages: 1 2 3

Clutch Release Shaft - sina27 - 11-02-2019

Hello,

I have a 1996 geo tracker 2WD 5speed. I plan on replacing the clutch, which is something I've never done before.

Sometimes when I press the clutch in and out, I hear a weird "friction" sound - I found out that the sound is coming from improper contact from the clutch release shaft
and the bell housing. The clutch release shaft (part 5) has a seal (part 7), which likes to slide out, causing the shaft to grind against the metal housing. I think over time
the shaft got warped, and its possible that the housing itself is compromised. 
I also noticed, that the "alignment" mark on the shaft, is not vertical where it should be. Whoever replaced the clutch last on my car made an artificial marking, which isn't there anymore, so I can't put the clutch release lever on accurately bu aligning the two marks together. 

I would like to replace the clutch release shaft, the seals, spring, clutch release forks, and other affiliated components while I'm replacing the clutch

Since I've never replaced a clutch before, I'm wondering if it would be easy to replaced the clutch release shaft during the process. For the clutch job, I was planning  on following the guide on FixKick's site (using the jackstand method). Using this method, would I be able to just remove the bell housing from the transmission to replace the shaft and affiliated components?
When replacing the shaft, how do I align the index mark in relation to the bell housing? I couldnt find any online sources explaining the process,.